2017 AWARD




Subscribe for Updates

Congrats! You're subscribed.



The purpose of this award is to encourage and promote new or existing scientific research related to Aicardi Goutières Syndrome (AGS). The scope of research could be basic sciences, clinical trials or medical studies. The preference is given to studies directly related to AGS discovery and treatment, however other research areas such as leukodystrophies, interferonopathy or gene therapy are also considered.


For questions, please contact:

Reza Farimani: rfarimani@gmail.com

Gary Hammock: 5jcritters@gmail.com

Application deadline:

July 14, 2017

Award funding amount: $20,000 one time.

Submission requirements:

1- One page research summary including background, objectives and methodology.

2- Proposed schedule

3- List of research team including principal investigator and affiliated institution.

Submit by email to rfarimani@gmail.com.

Award requirements:

A progress report is required within 6 months from time of award. Progress report does not need to exceed 2500 words. This is one time award however, further grants could be considered for promising research.

Selection Criteria:

One study will be selected by donors. Preference is given to:

1- Studies with promising content for the treatment or discoveries related to AGS.

2- Startup grants for short projects or preparing new proposal for a full project.

The decision made by the donors is final.

Selection Procdure:

Three prominent researchers in fields of medicine and biology kindly accepted to be our reviewer panel this year. Each judge would review submitted proposals based on our selection criteria and rank them from 1 to 10 (1 to be the best). Two proposals that receive best average ranking will be awarded. 


A copy of ethical approval by appropriate local ethics committee should be provided prior to receiving the grant.


We sent out our grant invitations to several research labs that had previous experience on Aicardi Goutieres Syndrome. Number of submitted proposals was beyond our expectation for the first year.  Two proposals were selected  by an independent panel of experts based on the grant criteria.

We are pleased to announce 2017 AGS awards winners in order of received highest scores as following:

1- Dr. Rayk Behrendht, Institute for Immunology, Faculty of Medicine, TU Dresden, Germany  "Molecular mechanisms of innate immune activation caused by deficiency for SAMHD1".

2- Dr. Adeline Vanderver, Children Hospital of Philadelphia, USA , "The relationship between measures of blood ISG, immune phenotype and symptom diaries before and after treatment with JAK1/2 inhibitor".